How To Reinstate a Suspended Virginia License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Virginia drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.

Driving with a suspended Virginia drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Virginia license. Select from the options below to get started.

Sponsored Link Ad

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

Application assistance services can simplify the process for many DMV related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DMV.

3: Via a DMV office

If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DMV office. Varying DMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DMV allows you to make a personal appointment.




Your license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Some situations are clear, while others are subtle, with some drivers unaware that their license is suspended at all. In this guide, you'll find information on the steps necessary to reinstate your Virginia driver's license no matter what your violation was.

In Virginia, you may be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor involving up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine if you drive while your license is suspended or revoked.

Reinstating Your License

After your suspension or revocation period expires and you have fulfilled your reinstatement requirements and paid any court-imposed fines, you may apply for reinstatement. Reinstatement requirements vary depending on your individual circumstances. You may obtain your specific requirements by requesting a personal DMV Compliance Summary at: https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/dmvnet/pin_maint/pin_logon.aspx?SESS=NEW.

You may also pay your reinstatement fees online by visiting: https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/dmvnet/pin_maint/pin_logon.aspx?SESS=NEW