Virginia Learner's Permit
Once you have completed a drivers education course, you are ready to apply for a Virginia learners permit. Select from the options below to get started.
1: Download and study your practice test
2: Prove that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
3: Via a local DMV office
- If you are 15 1/2 years old, you can get a permit, but you need a licensed driver in the passenger seat with you.
- If you are under 18, but older than 16 years and three months, and have a drivers education certificate, you don't need a licensed driver in the car with you.
- You must have held the permit for a minimum of nine months and have it signed by a parent or legal guardian.
- If you are over 19 and you have never held a license in any state, you will need to hold a learner’s permit for 60 days before you apply for a regular license.
- If you are under 19, you must hold your permit for at least nine months and show your drivers education certificate. There must be verified 45 hours of driving (15 after sunset) which your parent or guardian will certify.
- Vision test
- Two-part knowledge test
A 90-day temporary license costs $10.
Medical and Mental Requirements
Juvenile Licensing Ceremony
Once you hold your permit for nine months and are at least 16 years and 3 months old with a completed drivers education, you will get a notice by the court to appear in a licensing ceremony where you’ll get your permanent drivers license.
Find out more about drivers education in Virginia here.